GAIZA PROJECT

GAIZCA PROJECT

Biographie

🟦 IALMA

There is no more obvious association than the word “camiño” (the path) with the city of Santiago de Compostela, especially when this association is supported by four of its most proud ambassadors: IALMA, these four delightful “cantareiras” who, for almost 20 years, have been singing and playing their region of origin – Galicia – all over the world.
Since their debut, and ‘Palabras Darei’, their first album, how many paths traveled.

Paths still virgin, at the turn of which is the meeting, often unexpected but how rich in discoveries ; cross roads that feel good adventure and freedom ; steep paths that have sometimes cast doubt on the way to take ; devious paths, sources of new experiences ; paths that have crossed the roads of many artists to different universes, with which they have not hesitated to do … a little bit of way, such as Dulce Pontes, Carlos Nuñez, Kepa Junkera, Mercedes Peon, Eliseo Parra, but also Arno, Zefiro Torna, Philippe Catherine, Renaud, Lucilla Galeazzi, Leila Amezian, Manou Gallo, Carlo Rizzo, Quentin Dujardin, Dick Van der Harst, Urban Trad, Fabrizio Cassol, N’Faly Kouyate, Perry Rose, …

Although resident in Brussels, Veronica, Natalia, Marisol and Eva are in permanent connection with Galicia. The musical culture and the Galician traditions are indeed their inexhaustible sources of inspiration which allowed them to build, little by little, a vast repertoire of songs borrowed from their roots but adapted to their everyday life: that of women of today , in touch with several cultures, several languages, several musical aesthetics.

IALMA is the witness of this musical and artistic evolution that began in the Galician oral tradition and then ventured into surprising mixes, with new generations of rhythms and trends.

This is the best way to define the evolution of IALMA’s artistic project and its important contribution to perpetuate, renovate and evolve this particular musical genre.

🟦 Iñaki PLAZA

Iñaki PLAZA (Urduña, Bizkaia, 1976) began to study trikitixa (Basque diatonic accordion) and traditional Basque percussion (txalaparta and tambourine) in 1993. A few years later, he also studied other ethnic percussions, such as cajon , bodhran, darbuka or Indian tablas.
He plays the trikitixa with the group “Izalde” from 1994 to 1999 and with “Sorbeltz” until 2001.
From 2001 to 2007, he plays trikitixa, txalaparta and percussions with Kepa Junkera, Ibon Koteron and “Etxak”.
From 2004 to 2012, he works with “Ion Garmendia” on the project “O + Hatz” (hogeihatz).
Iñaki PLAZA also recorded on the albums of, and accompanied in concert, Berrogüetto (“Viaxe por urticaria” 1999, “Renovart” banda sonora 1998), Kepa Junkera (“K” Latin Grammy 2004, “Athletic Bihotzez” 2004, “Hiri “2006), Ibon Koteron (” Airea “2004), Kukuma (” Kukuma “2004), Araba euskaraz 2003 (” Orobil borobil “2003), Bilboko konpartsak (” Aste nagusia 25 urte “2002), Sobrino Sobrado (” Van pasando los años “2006), Faltriqueira (” Effecto faltriqueira “2006), Tejedor (” Musica na maleta “2006,” Positivu “2011, Coetus (Between Tierras 2012), Gere (La gran casa), Ialma (Camiño 2016), Kila , Zafrafolk, Gontzal Mendibil, Fran Idareta, Susana Seivane … and groups from Valencia, Bilbao, Tenerife, Albacete …
He played on the soundtrack of the movie “The torre of Suso” 2007.
He has been teaching trikitixa, txalaparta and percussions since 1996 in different Basque schools such as “Musikene”, Amurrio, Urduña and the Bilbao Trikitixa Music School.
He has also given several masterclasses at the Cervantes Institute of Chicago, the Instrument Museum in Munich, the music schools of Seattle, Washington, Reno’s University, Nevada.
He has made several tours, solo or as a musician, in Bilbao, Donostia, Catalonia, Madrid, Valencia, Los Azores, Castile Leon, Castilla la Mancha, Murcia, Aragón, Asturias, Cantabria, Andalucía, Galicia, Tenerife, Lanzarote, Gran Canaria, Portugal, France, Italy, Germany, England Scotland, Ireland, Belgium, Holland, Switzerland, Austria, Poland, Norway, Bosnia, Morocco, United States, Uruguay, Chile, China, Japan …

🟦 Manu SABATE

Manu SABATE was born in Barcelona in 1989.
In 2015, he graduated with a Master of Music at the Sibelius Academy of Helsinki and Arts Management at the Catalan Open University (UOC).
In 2012, he obtained a diploma of “gralla”, traditional oboe of Catalonia, at ESMUC (Superior School of Music from Catalonia).
Manu SABATE was one of the first Catalan musicians to wear the “gralla” out of its traditional context and to experiment it in new genres and languages, such as improvisation.
In addition to the “gralla” Manu SABATE plays bass clarinet, tarota and tenora (another traditional Catalan oboe).
He has been the leader of Inxa Impro Quintet since 2012, a group that has achieved the fusion of traditional Catalan music, jazz and rock and has recorded 3 albums: All That Trad (2013), Kind of Trad (2014) ) and Out of Trad (2017) ; project with which, in 2013, they won the musical competition “Sons de la Mediterrània”, organized by the Fira Mediterrània of Manresa.
In 2017, Manu SABATE also recorded the album Spontus & Manu Sabaté, a project born in 2014 from the collaboration with the Breton folk group “Spontus”. He also recorded “The Beauty and Mystery of the Prime Numbers” with the Ethic Labs ensemble and participated on the album “Fok” of Kepa Junkera.
In 2016, he recorded with the ska-jazz band “The Home Llop & The Estramats” – “Volum 1” and with Etnojazz quartet Alenky their first album.
In 2015, he became the leader of “NewCatalan_Etnic”, with which he directed the album “Ruralism Il·lustrat”, the band combines the sound of traditional Catalan instruments with other musical languages, exploring traditional pieces. He has also collaborated with the Harmonica Brava tribute, under the auspices of CAT at the Barcelona Auditorium, sharing the stage with Carles Benavent and Joan Albert Amargós. He also records Morena’s album cover.
In 2014, he recorded “Buurr” with FolkMus, a musical project of the European Union, and in 2013 he recorded “FBB” with the Sibelius Folk Big Band.
Now, Manu SABATE teaches traditional music at the Aula de Sons in Barcelona and Vilafranca, and at EMAP (Escola Música of Alt Penedès).
Manu has also been active in several other music schools in Catalonia, such as the Aula de Sons in Reus, the CAT, the MusicActiva school in Barcelona and also in various musical camps in the Pyrenees.
As Arts Manager, he worked at the Jeunesses Musicales of Spain (JMS), with ADEP.cat on the occasion of the NewCatalan Ensemble project, and organized the Musical Figarot, festival of traditional music in Vilafranca del Penedès in 2016 and 2017.

Subscribe to our monthly newsletter !

And be the first informed of our activities

SceneOff. © 2019 Bruxelles, Belgium

GAIZCA PROJECT

GAIZCA PROJECT

🟩 IALMA

Il n’apparaĂźt pas d’association plus Ă©vidente que celle du mot « camiño » (le chemin) avec la ville de Santiago de Compostela (Saint-Jacques de Compostelle). ParticuliĂšrement quand cette association est portĂ©e par 4 de ses plus fiĂšres ambassadrices : IALMA ; ces 4 ravissantes « cantareiras » qui, depuis prĂšs de 20 ans, chantent et jouent leur rĂ©gion d’origine – la Galice – Ă  travers le monde entier.

Depuis leurs tout débuts et « Palabras Darei », leur 1er album, que de chemins parcourus.

Des chemins encore vierges, aux dĂ©tours desquels se trouve la rencontre, souvent inattendue mais au combien riche en dĂ©couvertes ; des chemins de traverse qui sentent bon l’aventure et la libertĂ© ; des chemins escarpĂ©s qui ont parfois semĂ© le doute sur la voie Ă  suivre; des chemins dĂ©tournĂ©s, sources d’expĂ©riences nouvelles ; des chemins qui ont ainsi croisĂ© les routes de nombreux artistes aux univers bien diffĂ©rents avec lesquels elles n’ont pas hĂ©sitĂ© Ă  faire
 un petit bout de chemin, tels Dulce Pontes, Carlos Nuñez, Kepa Junkera, Mercedes Peon, Eliseo Parra, mais aussi Arno, Zefiro Torna, Philippe Catherine, Renaud, Lucilla Galeazzi, Leila Amezian, Manou Gallo, Carlo Rizzo, Quentin Dujardin, Dick Van der Harst, Urban Trad, Fabrizio Cassol, Perry Rose, 


Bien que rĂ©sidant Ă  Bruxelles, Veronica, Natalia, Marisol et Eva sont en connexion permanente avec la Galice. La culture musicale et les traditions galiciennes sont en effet leurs intarissables sources d’inspiration qui leur ont permis de construire, petit Ă  petit, un rĂ©pertoire de chants empruntĂ©s Ă  leurs racines mais adaptĂ©s Ă  leur quotidien : celui de femmes d’aujourd’hui, en prise avec plusieurs cultures, plusieurs langues, plusieurs esthĂ©tiques musicales.

IALMA est le tĂ©moin de cette Ă©volution musicale et artistique qui a commencĂ© dans la tradition orale galicienne et s’est ensuite aventurĂ©e vers un mixage surprenant, avec une nouvelle gĂ©nĂ©ration de rythmes et de tendances.

« DĂ©couvrir de nouvelles cultures musicales nous permet de nous enrichir et de nous connaĂźtre mieux ». Voici la meilleure façon de dĂ©finir l’évolution du projet artistique de IALMA et son importante contribution Ă  perpĂ©tuer, rĂ©nover et faire Ă©voluer ce genre musical particulier.

🟩 Iñaki PLAZA

Iñaki Plaza (Urduña, Bizkaia, 1976) commence Ă  Ă©tudier la trikitixa (accordĂ©on diatonique basque) et les percussions traditionnelles basques (txalaparta et tambourin) en 1993. Quelques annĂ©es plus tard, il Ă©tudie aussi d’autres percussions ethniques, tels que le cajon, le bodhran, le darbuka ou les tablas indiens. 

Il joue la trikitixa avec le groupe “Izalde” de 1994 à 1999 et avec “Sorbeltz” jusqu’en 2001.

De 2001 à 2007, il joue la trikitixa, la txalaparta et les percussions avec Kepa Junkera, Ibon Koteron et “Etxak”.

De 2004 à 2012, il travaille avec “Ion Garmendia” sur le projet “O+Hatz” (hogeihatz).

Iñaki PLAZA a Ă©galement enregistrĂ© sur les albums de, et accompagnĂ© en concert , BerrogĂŒetto (“Viaxe por urticaria”1999, “Renovart” banda sonora 1998), Kepa Junkera (“K” Grammy latino 2004, “Athletic Bihotzez” 2004, “Hiri” 2006), Ibon Koteron (“Airea” 2004), Kukuma (“Kukuma” 2004), Araba euskaraz 2003 (“Orobil borobil” 2003), Bilboko konpartsak (“Aste nagusia 25 urte” 2002), Sobrino Sobrado (“Van pasando los años”2006), Faltriqueira (“Effecto faltriqueira” 2006), Tejedor (“Musica na maleta” 2006, “Positivu” 2011, Coetus (Entre Tierras 2012), Gere (La gran casa), Ialma (Camiño 2016), Kila, Zafrafolk, Gontzal Mendibil, Fran Idareta, Susana Seivane… et des groupes de Valencia, Bilbao, Tenerife, Albacete…

Il a jouĂ© sur la bande originale du film “La torre de Suso” 2007.

Il enseigne la trikitixa, la txalaparta et les percussions depuis 1996 dans diffĂ©rentes Ă©coles basques, telles que “Musikene”, Amurrio, Urduña et l’école de musique de Bilbao Trikitixa.

Il a Ă©galement donnĂ© plusieurs masterclasses Ă  l’Instituto Cervantes de Chicago, Ă  l’Instrument Museum de Munich, aux Ă©coles de musique de Seattle (Washington), Reno’s University (Nevada).

Il a rĂ©alisĂ© plusieurs tournĂ©es, en solo ou comme musicien accompagnateur, Ă  Bilbao, Donostia, Catalonia, Madrid, Valencia, Los Azores, Castille LeĂłn, Castille la Mancha, Murcia, AragĂłn, Asturias, Cantabria, AndalucĂ­a, Galicia, Tenerife, Lanzarote, Gran Canaria, Portugal, France, Italie, Allemagne, Angleterre Ecosse, Irlande, Belgique, Hollande, Suisse, Autriche, Pologne, NorvĂšge, Bosnie, Maroc, Etats-Unis, Uruguay, Chili, Chine, Japon…

🟩 Manu SABATE

Manu SABATE est né à Barcelona en 1989.

En 2015, il est diplĂŽmĂ© d’un Master de musique Ă  la Sibelius AcadĂ©mie d’Helsinki et en Arts Management Ă  la Catalan Open University (UOC).

En 2012, il obtient un diplîme de “gralla”, hautbois traditionnel de Catalogne à l’ESMUC (Superior School of Music from Catalonia).

Manu SABATE a Ă©tĂ© un des premiers musiciens catalans Ă  porter la “gralla” hors de son contexte traditionnel et Ă  l’expĂ©rimenter dans des genres et des langages nouveaux, telle que l’improvisation. 

Outre la “gralla” Manu SABATE joue la clarinette basse, la tarota et la tenora (un autre hautbois traditionnel catalan).

Il a Ă©tĂ© le leader d’Inxa Impro Quintet, depuis 2012, un groupe qui a rĂ©ussi la fusion de la musique traditionnelle catalane , du jazz et du rock et a enregistrĂ© 3 albums : All that trad (2013), Kind of Trad (2014) and Out of Trad (2017) ; projet avec lequel, en 2013, ils ont remportĂ© la compĂ©tition musicale “Sons de la MediterrĂ nia”, organisĂ©e par la Fira MediterrĂ nia de Manresa.

En 2017, Manu SABATE a aussi enregistrĂ© l’album Spontus & Manu SabatĂ©, un projet nĂ© en 2014 de la collaboration avec le groupe breton de folk  “Spontus”. Il a aussi enregistrĂ© “The Beauty and Mystery of the Prime Numbers” avec l’ensemble Ethic Labs et participer sur l’album “Fok” de Kepa Junkera.

En 2016, il enregistre avec le ska-jazz band “L’Home Llop & The Estramats” – “Volum 1” et avec Etnojazz quartet Alenky leur premier album.

En 2015, il s’impose comme leader du “NewCatalan_Ètnic”, avec lequel il rĂ©alise l’album “Ruralisme Il·lustrat”, le groupe combine le son des instruments traditionnels catalans avec d’autres langages musicaux, explorant des morceaux traditionnels. Il a aussi collaborĂ© avec l’Harmonica Brava tribute, sous l’égide de CAT au Barcelona Auditorium, partageant la scĂšne avec Carles Benavent et Joan Albert AmargĂłs. Il enregistre aussi l’album cover de Morena.

En 2014, il enregistre “Buurr” avec FolkMus,  un projet musical de l’Union europĂ©enne et, en 2013, il enregistre “FBB” avec le Sibelius Folk Big Band.

A prĂ©sent, Manu SABATE enseigne la musique traditionnelle Ă  l’Aula de Sons de Barcelone et de Vilafranca, et Ă  l’EMAP (Escola MĂșsica de l’Alt PenedĂšs).

Manu a Ă©galement Ă©tĂ© actif dans plusieurs autres Ă©coles de musique en Catalogne, telles l’Aula de Sons Ă  Reus, au CAT, Ă  la MusicActiva school de Barcelone et aussi, dans divers camps musicaux des PyrĂ©nĂ©es. 

Comme Arts Manager, il a travaillĂ© au sein des Jeunesses Musicales d’Espagne (JMS), avec ADEP.cat Ă  l’occasion du projet du NewCatalan Ensemble, et organisĂ© le Musical Figarot,  festival de musique traditionnelle Ă  Vilafranca del PenedĂšs en 2016 et 2017.

Inscrivez-vous Ă  notre newsletter mensuelle!

Et soyez le premier informé de nos activités

SceneOff. © 2019 Bruxelles, Belgium